Sunrise

Clarity Smith
1 min readNov 16, 2022

--

Sometimes I walk down the street to watch the sunrise over the ocean.

As much as it’s a ritual I’ve cherished, I hesitated to do it again on this trip.

Standing in the places you’ve stood before during critical times has the potential be its own special kind of workout. Ecstasy, agony, or nothing at all? Will it resurrect things you’ve put to rest, or will it birth something new? You just don’t know what will happen until you’re there.

Over and over and over again, the sun came up for me here. Good days, bad days, didn’t matter. It came up then and it comes up now, creating a sparkling harmony in its eternal dance with the waves. There’s music you can see with your eyes, hear with your heart, and feel in your soul.

I don’t have words to describe it, but the verses talk about love and the chorus is a reminder to breathe and just be. The message drowns out the sounds of the cars and thoughts driving past. None of that matters here.

Sometimes I walk down the street to watch the sun rise over the ocean.

Sometimes I flip the camera around to document that I was there.

…and the music follows me home.

--

--

Clarity Smith

Finding out what happens when you walk through hell and come out on the other side.